Auditioning For Drama School

28 Apr

Over the last few weeks I have been auditioning for drama schools in London to do an MA in Acting. I had been pondering over the idea of going to drama school for a while. I already have a degree but thought that a year at drama school may just give me that little bit of extra training that I need.

Should I apply… should I apply…. should I apply…?!?

Well I finally did and I couldn’t be more pleased that I did as I was lucky enough to get offered a place at one of the best drama schools in the country. YIPPEE!

Auditioning for Drama Scool

My Audition Experience 

I don’t want to single out certain schools but I did audition for a few of the main drama schools in London. The audition process was pretty much the same for all of them but all the schools have different vibes. I went into some of  and didn’t feel comfortable at all but at others I could see myself running though the corridors singing as free as a bird.

For all the auditions I needed to learn one modern and one shakespeare monologue. It really doesn’t matter what monologues you choose as long as you do them well. I did a very common one by Helena from A Midsummers Night’s Dream.

You will either be asked to do your monologues on front of the group of other auditionees or on your own with a panel of teacher/s. I much preferred auditioning on front of the group because although this sounds more nerve wracking it is actually supporting and you kind of forget about the teacher/s.

My first audition was terrible! If something goes wrong, don’t let this put you off. I felt awful afterwards and thought there was no point in carrying on with the other auditions but I got back on my feet, neatened up my monologues and got an offer.

Advice

Stay grounded. When performing monologues don’t move unless you have an intention. When someone is swaying on their feet or walking back and forth it is very distracting to watch. This advice was given to me by a current student at one of the schools and it made my monologues so much better. You will stop thinking of your movements and will only move in response to the text. Own the space and stand tall.

Stay focused. If you get through to the second round you will likey be asked to improvise. Listen carfully to what they are saying and do exactly what is asked for. It maybe to change your monologue style or to act like a fish or a watermelon (this isn’t an exaggeration!)

Be bold. When asked to do a task, go for it and don’t hold back. They much prefer seeing actors make a fool of themselves for being over the top then someone holding back and thinking too much about what they are doing.

I was terrified about auditioning but I actually ended up having loads of fun and leaning new things about myself as an actress, even if I didn’t get excepted into the school.

I am very excited about starting drama school in September!!!

5 Responses to “Auditioning For Drama School”

  1. hisandherscene April 28, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Congratulations! – which one are you going to? I did the same with going to uni and then going to drama school and it was the one of the best decisions I’ve made. A x

  2. Jennwith2ns April 28, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

    Congrats! That’s fantastic!

  3. Lights of Clarity May 14, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    Congrats on your offer to drama school! Thanks for the follow 🙂

Leave a Reply

