Actors Checklist: My Acting Bag

4 Apr
So when I first started going to auditions I regularly forgot thing. Now after going to so many I have sorted myself out and leant what I need to pack in my bag before going to an audition.
I hope this helps some of you remember what to bring to your next audition. None of us like to be caught out!

Actress Bag

  1. Showreel: Not something that is always needed but sometimes I do get asked if I have a reel. Its always handy to be able to pull one out of my bag. This trick never fails to impress.
  2. Pen and Paper: Scribble down the names of the casting director and any answers to questions you know you will be asked. Also if you are given any information its always good to right it down straight away because if you are anything like me you will forget it by the time you get home.
  3. Google Maps or a Map: No excuses like ‘I could’t find the place’ will cut it with casting director. So get yourself a map so you don’t get lost.
  4. Food and Water: Bring dried snacks, such as cereal bars or fruit to keep energy levels up.
  5. Change of clothes: Flat shoes, high shoes, trousers, blazer, dress, dance clothes. It all depends on the role and activities.
  6. Make up and Deodorant: To freshen up when its needed. We all start sweating a little when the nerves kick in.
  7. Tissues: We all hate that feeling when the noes starts running and theses nothing to help you out. Sniff sniff!
  8. Positive mind frame: This won’t be in your bag but its something you must have before stepping into every audition room. ‘I can nail it, I know my lines, I am GREAT.’
  9. Monologues: You need in your back pocket not in your bag. You should have contrasting monologues learn off my heart. Classic, modern, dramatic, comical and shakespeare monologues are a must.
One Response to “Actors Checklist: My Acting Bag”

  1. Georgia ♔ April 11, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    Hey, I nominated you to the Versatile Blog Award!

    http://belovelyy.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    xx

Leave a Reply

