Following Your Dreams

23 Feb

Why do we have the desire to follow careers and dreams that seem so out of our reach?

Are we being unrealistic?

150364_10151055063183837_1462154946_n2.jpg

I find the word dream a funny one. Why is it called a dream when we want to become a successful writer, painter, actor, director, athlete or even an astronaut? Dreams are not real but these are jobs and not dreams. They may be highly competitive and there are many different levels of success but they are not so far out of our reach that they become unattainable.

You may not be able to do the job you want everyday of the week. The likely hood is that if you are going into these unstable careers we will have to take on other work to pay the bills at times. I believe if your really want to achieve your goals you have to ask yourself a few questions:

  • What’s more important to you, the freedom to do what you love or money?
  • Are you motivated enough that you can carry on through the tough times?
  • Are you able to put other people judgements and opinions to one side whist you focus on yourself?
  • Will you be able to cope with a rejection and the unpredictability of the work?

If you decide along the way that money is more important then that is fine, just as long is it is a decision you are happy with. Many of my actor friends have decided that they would prefer the stability of a 9-5 job and a regular pay package. It is never too late to change you mind.

ME

I have always wondered why I had this burning desire to become an actress, a desire that I don’t get for anything else. Growing up I was never exposed to any kind for performance nor where my parents actors or musicians. All I remember as a young child was wanting to watch Calamity Jane and Pretty Women on repeat (I was to young then to understand that Julia Roberts was playing a prostitute. I always thought she was just a crazy lady.) Something clearly sparked my imagination back then and there was no stopping me.

Never did I want to act because I wanted to be like someone else or because I thought it looked glamours (which I can tell you it is far from the truth). I have a genuine interest in the art and that is why I am still keeping at it. If the passion isn’t in your gut and every fibre in your body, you will likely stumble at the first hurdle.

I want to act because I love the art of acting, the theatre, the history and the overwhelming feeling I get from being involved in a project, even if it is in a tiny theatre above a pub, where only a hand full of people have bought tickets to see the show. But why do I desire it so much that I am willing to hold back in other parts of my life, for example money?

Simple; It makes me happy.

Nothing good comes easy and that’s because everyone else wants it too. If you find something that makes you happy then do it! I believe if you focus on what you want and keep striving towards your goals then you will always get there in the end. There has been ups and downs along my journey so far as an actress but I have loved the most part of it. When times get tough you have to remind yourself why you are doing what you are doing. Stay positive, stay strong, love what you do and work hard. One thing I always make sure I do is Smile!

Leave a Reply

